Great Quote by Delegate LeRoy Myers Jr. regarding O’Malleys so called tax credit for business’s


ANNAPOLIS — Maryland lawmakers and business owners are questioning Gov. Martin O’Malley’s proposal to give a $3,000 tax credit to businesses for each unemployed Maryland resident they hire.

“Let’s say I laid off half of my staff,” Del. LeRoy E. Myers Jr., R-Washington, said Thursday in a House Ways and Means hearing. “Why would I want to hire them back for $3,000, if I have no work for them?”

Tony Passaro, a small-business owner and father of six from Belair, testified to that reality before the committee.

“My business is failing,” he said. “I’m down 50 percent in revenue; therefore, I’ve laid off 50 percent of my employees. How in God’s name is a tax credit going to give me the demand I need to hire people back?”

Read more at the Washington Examiner: http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/local/Critics-say-O_Malley-plan-won_t-put-people-back-to-work-83594787.html#ixzz0efntM1CI

Leave a Reply

