Delegate Chris Shank announces his Candidacy for State Senator against State Senator Donald Munson


I have been waiting, wanting and hoping that this would finally happen, and now the time has come for Maryland and Washington County to make a sound and fiscal change for the future.  A Man with whom I have the highest regard and respect, next to my friends Ron Miller and David Aughenbaugh, I am here to announce officially that Delegate Chris Shank has formally announced his candidacy to run against the Liberal Voting Republican, who sells off his votes, Senator Don Munson.  After 30 plus years in office, it is time for there to be a change.  A change for all of Washington County and of The State of Maryland.  Chris can, and will  make the difference as his record has shown as House Delegate and House Minority Whip.

We must seek change, we must make change happen, and finally, with Chris, we can bring that change to Annapolis as our next Senator from Washington County.  We will form unity, we will mold and build the support needed to put Chris in this seat.  He is a tireless worker, he is honest, forthright, and will bend over backwards to help any citizen in need.  He will help restore Fiscal Responsibility.  He will not sell off his votes to the Democratic party and he will not align himself with the Left in Annapolis that has virtually destroyed our state in spending.  He will help the fight against Illegal Immigration, He will help your children and their children to come.  It is time for true Change, in with “FRESH NEW IDEAS” and out with “TIRED IDEAS” for our State Government.  Below is Chris’s official Statement.

From House Minority Whip, Christopher B. Shank:

I am writing today to let you know that I have decided to seek the Republican nomination for State Senate to represent Washington County in Annapolis.  I write you to humbly ask for your support.

Somewhere along the way our elected leaders have fashioned themselves our rulers rather than our servants–this must change!  We need new leadership and a commitment to reform to get headed in the right direction.  Thankfully, a new energy stirs throughout this nation.   This past spring and summer, we witnessed hundreds of thousands of Americans join together from across this nation in Tea Parties and Town Hall meetings.  They want their nation back!

In his farewell speech to the American people in 1989, Ronald Reagan said “I’ve spoken of the shining city all my political life, but I don’t know if I ever quite communicated what I saw when I said it. But in my mind it was a tall, proud city built on rocks stronger than oceans, windswept, God-blessed, and teeming with people of all kinds living in harmony and peace; a city with free ports that hummed with commerce and creativity”.  I am inspired every time I think of that City on a Hill, and I still believe in it.

The voters deserve a choice.  In this election, the people of Washington County will make an important choice about who represents them in Annapolis as their State Senator.  The Senate belongs to the people, not one person, even if they have held office for more than three decades.

I intend to articulate my ideas about government and make the case to the voters.  I do not pretend that this will be an easy choice to make.  Senator Munson has served this community for more than thirty-five years and I pay honor to that important service.

I respect him for his years of service, but it is time for new leadership, it is time for someone who will challenge the status quo that is leading this state in the wrong direction.  Too often when given this choice, our incumbent Senator has either been silent and not provided this leadership or, worse yet, voted the wrong way.

Over the next year, I intend to lay out my views about moving this state forward with conservative policies of pro-economic growth, limited spending, and government reform.  On these issues and many more, there will be a real choice between us, a real contrast for the voters to decide.  Senator Munson will need to answer for his decisions to abandon our conservative values and instead choose political expediency time and again.

We need to refresh our government–take it back.  Fill it with people who have new energy, who are willing to fight to return our values and bring back prosperity.  I’m willing to do my part and stand up, but I do need your help to achieve this victory.

If this conservative message of renewing our government and returning to the principles that our nation was founded on appeals to you, the first thing that I would ask of you is join with me when I announce for the State Senate on January 8th located at Parkway Neuroscience, 17 Western Maryland Parkway in Hagerstown.  This event will be held at 5 PM and I really need your attendance to make it a success! Please let me know if you can make it, I’d be greatly honored if you could join me.

May God’s blessings be upon you and your family during this wonderful holiday season and best wishes for a prosperous and Happy New Year!



House Minority Whip

Leave a Reply

